IMG_4438“My main hope is that through art I can make an imprint on someone’s view of the world however small. I believe that we were put on this earth to do more than just exist and that our mission should be to create and do meaningful things. Not only in this moment but for a lifetime; to make a lasting impression on the world we live in.” – M. Amann

Her name: Melyssa Amann. (Make a mental note of it, as I am most certain that it may be quite a popular name in the future).

At only eighteen (18) years of age, she is one of the most versatile, passionate, and driven young (visual) artist I know. My first encounter with her was at the conclusion of a theatrical production in 2014 where I noticed that she played the guitar. After adding each other on Facebook, I would see ever so often, appearing on my news-feed, minor sketches that she had drew. These would often be displayed by her, with much joy and pride.

“I have a deep passion for the things that people create. I have on numerous occasions, looked at a piece of art and was  brought to tears by the words speaking though it. The mind is so beautiful a thing, and art is a small way of seeing someone’s mind.”

She further went on to say. “I believe that even if I weren’t artistic, I would still be as passionate – if not more – about beauty and the things that people create. I especially have a thing for hyper realism. Someone’s ability to capture a person or object on a canvas exactly the way they look in real life will never cease to amaze me.”


Melyssa is a past student of the Naparima Girls High School, San Fernando. While attending there, she pursued Art (of course), Pure Mathematics and Physics at the CAPE/Advance level. She also became deeply involved  in the school’s String Orchestra As the President, and the ISCF club.

She stated that she is not 100% sure about her ultimate career goal for the moment, but she is absolutely certain of her happiness, once she is given the opportunity to express herself through art. “Once it’s something within the field art or design, I will experience pure bliss. Not just art, but art that matters. I want to be able to make things that will create a positive difference in the lives of people. As for now though, I’m leaning towards majoring in Industrial design at the Savannah College of Art and Design. My choice in majors may however change.”

“My passion for art has been gradual. I always knew that I liked it, but I never thought that it would end up meaning this much to me. I realised at the CSEC level that there’s nothing I’d rather do than create things and my nine (9) scheduled periods of art per week at CAPE level were my happiest, and most relaxing times. Art has become so much more than a hobby for me, so I know now that having an art related career is the only way that I will ever be happy.”

When asked about her inspiration, she stated that ultimately, it came from everyday life. Anything that she is passionate about or anything that speaks to her soul is reflected in her pieces. I have noticed, that a large amount of her work has been centered around slavery and freedom. When asked if this was going to be her trademark theme, she replied; “Sometimes I plan it that way, and other times it takes its own course becoming something new. The idea of slavery and inequality has always been something that moves my heart and by centering my pieces around these themes, I speak through them, saying things that my words cannot express.”

What are your goals for the future?

– “In the future, after completing my degree, I really do hope to be able to return and give back to Trinidad and Tobago. Unfortunately, depending on the major I do, it may not be possible to find a job when I come back, so chances are, that I may have to reside in the US and seek a job there. It’s not my ideal plan so I’m trying not to worry about that from now.”

What is one of your biggest fears?

– “One of my greatest fears is that the concerns of everyday life will stifle my passion for what I love. I’ve already struggled hard enough so as to not be stuck in a career that is chosen out of convenience instead of doing what I would like. I need art to live through everything I do and I don’t ever want my flame to die.”

– “I’m am also afraid that I won’t be good enough at whatever I’d like to do. To make it in any field of art, you have to be exceptional. It’s extremely competitive and art itself is very opinionated. Traditional artists generally struggle between producing what the public would like to see and what the artist would like them see. It’s hard because what you express on a canvas or in 3D form isn’t always socially pretty or politically correct.”

What is something that most people wouldn’t know about you?

– “I appreciate people’s beauty more than I think is normal, regardless of gender or age. I tend to be obsessed sometimes. Not in a weird way of course, but sometimes I won’t be able to stop staring at a person’s face because of how absolutely gorgeous I think they are.”

Have you any advice for the upcoming artists?

-“Don’t let anyone kill your flame. They’ll try to discourage you from doing art and probably dismiss it as a mere hobby. If you have a talent or a gift, use it to its full potential. The worst thing that you can do is to settle for a career that you wouldn’t love just because you’d make more money. Ultimately, happiness is worth more. Stick with your passion and make it work.

More of her work here

IMG_4439 IMG_4441 IMG_4442 IMG_4448IMG_4443

 IMG-20150417-WA001 IMG-20150417-WA002 IMG-20150417-WA006 IMG-20150417-WA007 IMG-20150417-WA010 IMG-20150417-WA011 IMG-20150420-WA001

https://login.skype.com/login/silent?response_type=postmessage&client_id=580081&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fblu175.mail.live.com%2Fdefault.aspx&state=silentloginsdk_1436462274184&_accept=1.0&_nc=1436462274184&partner=999